T20 World Cup Cricket Tournament History

The ICC World Twenty20 (also referred to as the World T20, and wrongly as the T20 World Cup) is the international championship of Twenty20 cricket. Organised by cricket’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), the tournament currently consists of 16 teams, comprising all ten ICC full members and six other associate or affiliate members chosen through the World Twenty20 Qualifier.

T20 World Cup Cricket tournament can be described as the international championship of Twenty20 cricket, which is commonly abridged as T20 cricket.

As the name suggests, the game is organized by ICC (International Cricket Council), the governing body of cricket in the world. The inaugural tournament of the ICC T20 World Cup was held in the year 2007, in South Africa.

Twenty20 Cricket World Cup 2007 stretched on from 11th September to 24th September, with India winning the championship, after defeating Pakistan by 5 runs (in Johannesburg).

Just like the inaugural event had, all the tournaments of the Twenty20 Cricket World Cup will comprise of 12 teams, which will include all the Test-playing nations. Right now, it is expected that the world cup will held around every two years.

T20 World Cup Cricket Tournament History

The event has generally been held every two years, although there is a four-year gap between the next two scheduled tournaments (2016 in India and 2020 in Australia). All matches played are accorded Twenty20 International status.

Five World Twenty20 tournaments have so far been played, and no team has yet won the tournament on multiple occasions.

T20 World Cup Cricket Tournament History

When the Benson & Hedges Cup ended in 2002, the ECB needed another one day competition to fill its place. Cricketing authorities were looking to boost the game’s popularity with the younger generation in response to dwindling crowds and reduced sponsorship.

It was intended to deliver fast paced, exciting cricket accessible to thousands of fans who were put off by the longer versions of the game. Stuart Robertson, the marketing manager of the ECB, proposed a 20 over per innings game to county chairmen in 2001 and they voted 11–7 in favour of adopting the new format.

T20 World Cup Cricket Tournament Qualification

Talking about the qualification for playing the ICC Twenty20 World Cup, all the Test-playing nations receive the same automatically. As for the rest of the places in the 12-teams championship, they are filled by ICC associate member nations, also known as qualifiers, on the basis of a qualification tournament. In 2007, there were two qualifiers – Scotland and Kenya. In the 2009 tournament, there are three qualifiers – Ireland, the Netherlands and Scotland.

T20 World Cup Cricket Tournament Host

The hosts of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup are decided on the basis of the bids made by the nations interested in holding the championship. It is the executive committee of International Cricket Council (ICC) that votes on the bids, selecting the host country. It had been decided that the first two tournaments will be held in South Africa and England, since they had opted the T20 format in the earliest stages only. The hosts of ICC Twenty20 World Cup, till 2014, have and will be:

  1. 1st T20 WC, 2007, South Africa
  2. 2nd T20 WC, 2009, England
  3. 3rd T20 WC, 2010, West Indies
  4. 4th T20 WC, 2012, Sri Lanka
  5. 5th T20 WC, 2014, Bangladesh
  6. 6th T20 WC, 2016, India
  7. 7th T20 WC, 2020, Australia

T20 World Cup Cricket Records

Below are the major T20 World Cup Records made by the teams and individuals in batting, bowling and fielding:

T20 World Cup Batting Records

Most Runs: Mahela Jayawardene – 1016 (31 matches) (2007-2014)

Highest Average: Virat Kohli- 72.00 (11 matches) (2012-2014)

Highest strike rate: Stephan Myburgh – 154.48 (7 matches) (2014)

Highest Score: Brendon McCullum v Bangladesh – 123 (58 balls) (2012)

Highest Partnership: Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara v West Indies – 166 (100 balls) (second wicket) (2010)

Most Runs in a Tournament: Virat Kohli- 319 (6 matches) (2014)

Most runs in an over: Yuvraj Singh against Stuard Broad – 36 (2007)

T20 World Cup Bowling Records

Most wickets: Lasith Malinga – 38 (31 matches) (2007-2014)

Best Figures: Ajantha Mendis v Zimbabwe – 6/8 (4 overs) (18 Sep 2012)

Most Wickets in a Tournament: Ajantha Mendis – 15 (6 matches) (2012)

T20 World Cup Fielding Records

Most Dismissals (wicket-keeper): by Kamran Akmal – 30 (12 + 18) in 30 matches (2007-2014)

Most Catches (fielder): AB de Villiers 21 (26 matches) (2007-2014)

T20 World Cup Team Records

Highest Score: 260/6, by Sri Lanka vs Kenya (2007)

Lowest Score: 39 all out, by Netherlands vs Sri Lanka (2014)